Here’s yet another treat for my fellow disco historians out there — it’s the holy grail of disco journalism!

In 1983, Steven Harvey, a British journalist (and today the proprietor of an NYC art gallery), wrote the first true “DJ profile” piece that ran in an obscure UK art magazine called Collusion. As far as the primary sources of disco are concerned, this might be the most important article ever written about dance music, period. The text of this piece has been floating around online for a while in plain text (copied and pasted into many a DJ forum in the late 90’s and 00’s) and as a reprint in DJ Magazine), but the actual pages with photos and layout have never seen the light of day for most of us regular folks.

Harvey was able to get introduced to almost all of the top DJs of the New York scene, and then whittled down his list to six DJs who he felt best represented the moment. Walter Gibbons, David Mancuso, Shep Pettibone, Larry Levan, Jellybean Benitez, and François Kevorkian are all interviewed and photographed in the piece.

It’s an incredible read, not just because of who Harvey was able to talk to and when, but also because of how forward-thinking the piece is. It reads like contemporary journalism and social commentary — Harvey seemed to grasp all of the social, economic, racial, and orientation issues inherent to disco at that time, and somehow he’s able to present its history without judgment while simultaneously nailing the future issues that will face the dance music community for decades to come. It’s almost telepathic.

In Tim Lawrence’s most recent book chronicling the history of dance music, “Life and Death on the New York Dance Floor, 1980-1983,” (buy it, seriously!!!!) he fittingly ends his book with a chapter dedicated to this very article (and to a classic Jools Holland clip from “The Tube” that mysteriously disappeared from YouTube recently). If you want to get a feel for the New York DJ scene in the early 80’s, this is the best way to do it.

Please click the images below to view Steven Harvey’s “Behind The Groove: NYC’s Disco Underground” article from Collusion Magazine in 1983.

And in case you missed it, we previously posted a rare article written by Arthur Baker in April, 1978 on “The Rise and Triumph of Euro-Disco.”

Uncharted territory alert! Don has some new (vintage) wax to make your day. Check out these killer cuts from Chic and Debbie Gibson!!!

Tracklist for September 13, 2017

01 :: Underground Resistance w/ Yolanda – Your Time Is Up [Underground Resistance]
02 :: Chic – Chic Mystique (Club Dub) [Warner Bros. Records]
03 :: Debbie Gibson – Free Me (Miss Debbie’s Dub) [Atlantic]
04 :: Black Ice feat. Nature Love – Jingle II [Swing Street]
05 :: Betty Boo – Thing Goin’ On (MK Underground Dub) [Sire]
06 :: Ruffneck feat Yavahn – Everybody Wanna Be Somebody (The Peppermint Jam) [Urban]
07 :: Kludo feat. J.D. Braithwaite – Love Goes On (The Marques Wyatt Dub) [Sub-Urban]
08 :: E.G. Fullalove – Didn’t I Know (The Tom E Work Your Body Dub) [Eromlig Music Inc.]
09 :: Happy Mondays – Sunshine & Love (Far Island Mix) [Elektra]
10 :: M People – One Night In Heaven (Thee Def Club Mix) [Epic Dance]
11 :: Z – Party For Freedom [Black Rain Records]
12 :: C.V.O. – Mighty Real Groove [Slow To Speak]
13 :: Janet Jackson – When I Think Of You (Deep Dish Chocolate City Mix) [AM:PM]
14 :: Benji Candelario – Swing Bee Cee [Groove On]
15 :: Robin S. – Love for Love (Stone’s Extended Mix II) [Big Beat]
16 :: Shake – Thats What I Want (Different Mix) [Trance Fusion]
17 :: Eddie Murphy – Whatzupwitu (Eclipse Mix) [Motown]
18 :: Dirty Harry – Luv Anthem [Henry Street Music]
19 :: Basement Jaxx – Betta Daze [Atlantic Jaxx Recordings]
20 :: Hardrive 2000 featuring Lynae – Never Forget (When You Touch Me) (Dance Ritual Mix) [Strictly Rhythm Records]
21 :: Mindchime feat. Yana – To Be Someone (M-Chime Phat Vocal Mix) [Sub-Urban]
22 :: Charles Dockins presents James Howard – We Can Do It (Wake Up) (Original Club Mix) [Emotive Records]
23 :: Aly-Us – Follow Me (Club Mix) [Strictly Rhythm Records]

Nobody’s pushing Don out of the business of playing classic disco for two hours straight. Release yourself!

Tracklist for September 6, 2017

01 :: Willie Hutch – Brother’s Gonna Work It Out [Motown]
02 :: Convertion – Let’s Do It [Sam Records]
03 :: Ian Dury & The Blockheads – Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick (Disco Version) [Stiff-Epic]
04 :: Manu Dibango – Soul Makossa [White]
05 :: Asphalt Jungle – Freakin’ Time Pt. 1 [TEC Records]
06 :: First Choice – Love Thang [Gold Mind Records]
07 :: LaBelle – Messin’ With My Mind [Epic]
08 :: The Reddings – You’re The Only One [Believe In A Dream]
09 :: Geraldine Hunt – Can’t Fake The Feeling [Uniwave]
10 :: Chocolette – It’s That East Street Beat (Vocal) [Atlantic]
11 :: Aleem – Release Yourself (Dub) [NIA Records]
12 :: Aleem – Release Yourself [NIA Records]
13 :: Mascara – Baja [Oh My! Records]
14 :: Whitney Houston – Thinking About You (Extended Dance Version) [Arista]
15 :: David Joseph – You Can’t Hide (Your Love From Me) [Mango]
16 :: T-Connection – At Midnight [TK Disco]
17 :: Patrick Adams pres. Phreek – Weekend (Long Version) [Atlantic]
18 :: Motown Sounds – Bad Mouthin’ [Motown]
19 :: New York Port Authority – I Got It (Special Disco Version) [Invictus]
20 :: Teddy Pendergrass – Get Up, Get Down, Get Funky, Get Loose [Philadelphia International Records]
21 :: Tony Aiken & Future 2000 – Better Days [Shyrlden Records]
22 :: Freddy Perren – 2 Pigs And A Hog [Motown]
23 :: The Trammps – Can We Come Together [Atlantic]
24 :: Roy Ayers – Running Away (Full Length Version) [CBS]
25 :: John Gibbs & The U.S. Steel Orchestra – Trinidad (Special Disco Mix) [Jumbo Caribbean Disco]
26 :: Sun Palace – Rude Movements [Debut]

Sometimes you just feel a certain way, throw some records in the bag on a whim, and all of a sudden you have some magic. I was feeling like some uplifting deep house and boy did I surprise myself. This is a good one folks.

Tracklist for August 30, 2017

01 :: Simply Red – Something Got Me Started (Hurley’s House Remix) [EastWest Records America]
02 :: Crystal Waters – Surprise (Open Your Eyes Mix) [Mercury]
03 :: Urban Soul – Alright (Club Mix) [Chrysalis]
04 :: Whitney Houston – Love Will Save The Day (Extended Remix) [Arista]
05 :: Tracer – Love Fantasy (Vocal) [Nu Groove Records]
06 :: Mr. Monday – Appreciate [Greedy Beat Records]
07 :: Adeva – I Thank You (New Jersey Mix) [Capitol Records]
08 :: Groovestyle – Love (Underground Mix) [Favorite Recordings]
09 :: Shawn Christopher – Don’t Lose The Magic (Magic Todd Dub) [Arista]
10 :: Monie Love – Never Give Up (Junior Dub) [Cooltempo]
11 :: Immature – We Got It (Bottom Dollar Vocal Dub) [MCA Records]
12 :: Black Traxx – Can U Feel It [Night Club Records]
13 :: Nu Colours – Desire (Masters At Work Dub 3) [Wildcard]
14 :: Todd Terry pres. Sax – Jazz Anthem [Freeze Records]
15 :: Interceptor – Higher Love (Deep South Mix) [Emotive Records]
16 :: B.O.P. – Music Please (Extended Mix) [Big Beat]
17 :: Aritmya – Hey Man (Essence Mix) [Calypso Records]
18 :: Joi Cardwell – Trouble (Real Vocal Mix) [Eightball Records]
19 :: Level III – Do It 2 (Club-A-Dub Mix) [Junior Boy’s Own]
20 :: Charisse Arrington – Down With This (Masters At Work Remix) [MCA Records]
21 :: Lil’ Louis – Club Lonely (The Guest List Mix) [White]
22 :: Soulboy – Harmonica Track (The Classic Mix) [Maxi Records]
23 :: Eric Kupper pres. K-Scope – Organism [TRIBAL America]